Youth Arts Awards

The Bathurst Arts Council / 2BS GOLD Youth Arts Awards are a well respected tradition established with 2BS Gold many years ago. The awards recognize our talented and creative local youth in all areas of the arts. Many of our past recipients have gone on to excel in their careers thanks in part to their recognition.

The award comprises media recognition and a $100 cash prize to be applied to the furthering of artistic endeavors of the individual. Award winners will be eligible for the 2BS Youth Arts Award Scholarship to be presented as part of the Bathurst Australia Day celebrations each year. The winner of this annual award will receive a $1000 Scholarship to be applied to a specific arts related opportunity. All winners are invited to participate in the Youth Arts Award annual Showcase Concert in Nov/Dec of each year at BMEC.

Find us on Facebook. Application forms can be downloaded here or requested by emailing the project coordinator.

The 2019 selected nominees of the 2BS Bathurst Arts Council Youth Arts Awards performed at the Youth Arts Awards Showcase Concert on Monday 25th November 2019 at City Hall, Bathurst Entertainment Centre. They were Natalia Burgess, Jane Sheather, Toby Gough, Mia Ryan, Rose McPhail and Bobbi Ralls. All performers should be congratulated on the high standard that was set.

Presentations were made to the YAA Nominees for 2019. 

The three finalists who were selected by the committee to continue onto the scholarship stage were Natalia Burgess, Rose McPhail and Bobbi Ralls.  They performed at the Bathurst Regional Council’s Citizens Awards evening on 9th December 2019, and the winner was selected.

The Scholarship winner of the 2019 2BS Youth Arts Awards was announced on Australia Day as part of the official Bathurst Regional Council celebrations, where Bobbi, Natalia and Rose performed to an appreciative audience.

Congratulations to 2019 Youth Arts Awards Scholarship winner: Bobbi Ralls. 

An additional highlight of the 2019 Showcase Concert was the performances of the Stars of the Future.

Young Speech and Drama students of Kristie Thorne performed poems and duologues. They were:  Sybilla Chapman, Sadie Chapman and Amira Buttsworth, Henry Kensit, Scarlett Hall.

Rhonda Coleman’s, flute group The Piccolinas, played Sally Adams and Joep Wanders.

A classical ballet and modern dance were performed by Students of Promenade Dance School.

Support the Youth Arts Awards

You can give your support to the Bathurst Youth Arts Awards through your annual membership to
Bathurst Arts Council. Membership fees contribute to the awards. 

Youth Arts Awards Hall of Fame

Winner 2005/6 Ella Jamieson – cello and piano

Winner 2006/7 Sarah Parsons – theatre production
Winner 2007/8 Jane Cameron – violin

Winner 2008/9 Mark Graham – aerial ring
Winner 2009/10/11 monthly nominees only

Winner 2012/13 Tara Chan – piano
Winner 2013/14 Liam Auhl – voice

Winner 2014/15 Elliee Nunn – aerial tissu
Winner 2015/16 Emma Russell – trumpet

Winner 2016/17 Jason Massey – dance
Winner 2017/18 Will Hazzard – visual art

Winner 2018/19 Anna McPhail – piano

Winner 2019/2020 Bobbi Ralls – voice

Youth Arts Awards